Thursday, February 16, 2006



2ND INTERVIEW

I woke up at 10am, dragging myself out of bed for my 11am interview with some other people at Wilkin Guge. For some reason, I'm not really excited about this. I was a little nervous, but the magic of working for a glamorous agency is no longer there. I guess I've lost some of my innocence.

I got there about five minutes early and met with Stella Cruzalegui first. She works for ARC media services and WG was using her as their media strategist this whole time. Apparently, they've overtaxed her and decided it was time to get an in-house media director. She broke things down for me, telling me all about the kind of clients WG has (mostly Inland Empire businesses) and what the company needs as far as structure. She also said that the position would require someone who would handle all media, "from nuts to soup." It was obvious she'd been in the business for quite sometime and acted like some media buyers I used to know.

Media buyers and media planners are two different types of media folk. Buyers tend to be less educated and are more like sales people. They are required to buy media slots in broadcast media and are pretty hardcore when it comes to negotiation. Planners, on the otherhand, tend to be more analytical and spend more time planning versus negotiating.

Anyway, just as we were starting to get comfortable, Andrew Wilkin, managing partner and Creative Director, joined us in the interview. He was a soft spoken man and much more quiet than most of the creative directors I've known. However, he's the one that started the business and seemed confident in where he wanted to take it.

I felt comfortable talking to them and they didn't ask me any questions I couldn't answer. In fact, they didn't ask me any questions I've never heard before nor where they very difficult. Maybe I judged them wrong, but it felt like they had already made up their mind to hire me. However, after the interview, they mentioned they would be interviewing a few more people and that they would make their decision after the meetings.

I got home and ate lunch then waited for the Adelphia technician to come and drop off the DVR I ordered. After waiting from 1-3:30pm, I called Adelphia and asked them what was going on. They were surprised to hear the technician never arrived and offered to get someone here in thirty minutes. I asked them what they could do about all my time wasted and the dispatcher asked me what I was asking for specifically because she didn't know what I was trying to get at. Thoughts of sexual favors crossed my mind, but then I threw the question back and asked what they usually did when someone misses an appointment.

The dispatcher then said that if we reschedule for Friday, she can waive the visitation fee. I was happy with that and accepted.

Then I got a haircut at the Haircut Store and jogged 2.75 miles. When I got back home, I cooked up two versions of salmon from Sara Moulton of FoodTV. They turned out pretty good but I may have overcooked the salmon. Afterwards, I took a pretty gnarly shit that was mostly liquid. I don't know what could have caused that except for the pork chops I had for lunch. Maybe it was my nervousness or maybe the food I ate wasn't completely digested when I did my run.

I stayed up watching Fistful of Dollars directed by Sergio Leone. I'd seen Yojimbo before so I was a little worried it might be a direct copy. The plot was the same, but the actors and setting were different and it was a lot better than I thought it would be. Very cool movie and highly recommended.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home